Traveling Ishbel

I have been trying my hand at lace again.  My last attempt at Ysolda’s Ishbel was a complete disaster and resulted in me throwing it across the room in tears, frogging it, and turning the yarn into one sock for my boyfriend.  (Yes, he has two feet, but I have second sock syndrome.  What can I say?  No one is perfect.)  This second attempt, six months later, has been much more successful.  I have finally perfected tinking back, which has saved me more than once on this project.  I have also been in love with my lifeline, which luckily I have only used twice, but am so glad it is there.  This is one project where I can really tell how far I have come in the last year, which is exciting.  I am able to keep track of patterns both mentally, and more importantly, visually.  I am about half way finished, and it is so exciting to actually see the lace reveal itself while I knit.  (I have no current photos to show this, but trust me, it looks like lace!)

I am calling it my Traveling Ishbel because it has been everywhere with me, from cafes to a recording studio.  I have knit it under a tree on a perfect fall day, and have knit it on the beach with rain clouds looming.  I have knit it while cookies were baking, and knit it during friendly conversations.  I have knit so many wonderful memories into this piece.  Now if only I don’t mess the lace up again!

 

About A Traveler's Yarn

I am a twenty-something obsessive knitter and traveler, living on Catalina Island.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

