Well Hello… Again

It feels as though this blog is too new to have already lapsed in posting.  I’m great at starting a project – all that potential.  I have proven with knitting that I am capable of bringing projects to completion – so I have decided to keep on with this blog.

My big news today is that I have signed up to attend Squam Art Workshops this spring.  They do a session on textile and fiber, and I couldn’t be more excited!  Of course, only after sending in my registration did it dawn on me that I will somehow have to get myself to New Hampshire – but details details.

Here are photos of my current favorite knit creation, my Whale Hat.  I still haven’t seen a whale on the boat yet though…

Wandering around Long Beach this weekend, we happened upon this fountain which is right next to the apartment and yet for some reason had never seen before.  It seemed a perfect place for a whale photo shoot.

Speaking of wandering around downtown Long Beach this weekend, it was such a tease to have TNNA one street away from the apartment and not be able to attend!  I did walk around the inside of the Convention Center a bit.  I wore a knit sweater so perhaps I would blend in more.  It worked until actually entering the floor, and then there was someone there who truly was checking badges.  I still think I could have gotten in if my friend hadn’t asked the guard if anyone could go in.  I blame him!  On the upside though, I wasn’t thrown out of a knitting convention and TNNA hasn’t blacklisted me from future events.  My good name remains.  All in all though, it was fantastic to see so much knitwear wandering around town, and a few times I became dizzy with the fact that it is true – there are other crazy obsessed knitters in the world like me.  You can read blogs and check Ravelry all you want, but until you see so many flesh and blood folks wandering around in their lace shawls and cabled sweaters, you still doubt your sanity just a bit.  Living on an island in Southern California (not exactly wool-friendly weather) it makes it hard to really build up a community of knitters, so it is nice to know that they are out there.

And lastly, a photo from the Hogmanay Dance.  I’m so glad I was able to spend some of my New Years Eve here. We only stayed for two dances, but oh how I love Scottish Country Dancing!

About A Traveler's Yarn

I am a twenty-something obsessive knitter and traveler, living on Catalina Island.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

