A Wandering We Go

Yesterday we had a day off of excavation due to rainy weather.  However, the afternoon cleared up and turned into a beautiful Virginia fall day.  After being cooped up inside for the past three days, I needed some sunshine and a good wander.  A fellow archaeologist and UVA graduate offered to show me around grounds.

I have missed the magic that is fall while living on the west coast.  I am glad to be experiencing it in the mountains of Virginia this year.  Fall foliage and the Jeffersonian buildings of UVA are perfect compliments to each other.  There is something so correct about being on a college campus when the leaves are changing.

The highlight, and most serendipitous moment, of our amble was attending a Quidditch game.  We had seen a small hand-written sign on a message board and realized the games were going on right then.  We could not resist going to watch them.  I mean, what Harry Potter lover has not dreamt of watching a Quidditch match?  After talking with a few people it seems that this is a widespread college phenomena, with real rules and tournaments, which makes me quite happy inside.  I am sad that this was not played while I was in school because it looked like pure fun!

They even had butterbeer for sale.  Who could resist?  It was quite yummy, but I am sure it was just about a diabetic coma in a cup.

By the time Craig and I made it back to the car it was sunset.  I decided this summer that there is no sky more beautiful than a Charlottesville sky.  Last night did not disappoint.  It was lovely to watch the day fade from the top of the car park.

There was even a house with a perfect attic window, covered in moss, to imagine living in.

I am smitten with Charlottesville.

About A Traveler's Yarn

I am a twenty-something obsessive knitter and traveler, living on Catalina Island.
This entry was posted in Photography, Wandering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

