WIP Wednesday: Autumn in Garrison

I have been wanting to knit an Autumn in Garrison  for myself ever since I saw Jessa’s hat at Squam.  Yesterday morning I found myself with nothing currently on the needles (I am going through a bout of massive finishing of projects at the moment) so I went ahead and cast on.  I am knitting it with a skein of Malabrigo that has been sitting around in my stash for awhile now, waiting to be knit into the perfect hat.

I cannot really imagine my life without knitting.  I sometimes forget that I started knitting less than two years ago, and still have so much to learn.   I find that knitting lace is where I see the cumulative increase in my knitting skills and knowledge reflected most vividly.  My first lace project was an Ishbel scarf a little over a year ago, and it was a disaster of a project in the sense that I was not able to yet visually keep track of a pattern, which is essential to lace knitting.  I could not really recognize a YO or a PSSO, or any of those classic lace ingredients, and thus could not figure out a way to make quick fixes when I messed up (which was a lot.)  There was a lot of frogging, until I discovered using lifelines, and even that only prevented ripping back from being a total loss.  Lets just say that there was more frustration and cussing during this project than any other.  There might have even been a moment where, in an unladylike fashion, I threw my needles and yarn across the room.  The experience was so traumatic that, though finished, I still have yet to block the damn thing.

A year later I find myself finally ready to begin dabbling in lace again.  A large number of people have told me how much they enjoy knitting lace, and I can’t imagine that that many people can be crazy, so I have decided to give it a second shot.  I am pleased as punch to say that I am finding myself that much closer to joining the other team.  The ability to follow along visually with what I am doing, and being able to see right away when I do something silly has made this whole lace knitting, dare I say, ridiculously fun.  The pattern itself is both delightful and addicting.  I haven’t been able to put it down.

My other work in progress is the second book of the Hunger Games Trilogy.  I am so close to finished!

About A Traveler's Yarn

I am a twenty-something obsessive knitter and traveler, living on Catalina Island.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

